The World Beard and Moustache Championships 2007

Beards, Facial Hair, Football, Liverpool FC

Yes this week saw more than 250 hairy faced contestants from around the world enter the finals in Brighton, the first time the event has been held in the UK. Brighton was chosen as the venue as it has an unusually high tolerance for freakish absurdity (ie/The Kooks)

However one contestant was said to be ” absolutely gutted” and “as sick as a parrot”. Soccer pundit and newly bearded gadabout,  Alan Hansen was devastated that his efforts had  come to nought.

Twenty three year old Jack Passion of San Francisco won for best full, natural beard, to which Hansen retorted ” Twenty three ? – You cant win anything with kids, its an absolute disgrace, shocking ! I don’t think anyone enjoyed it. Apart from the people who watched it. The lad had Passion, no question, and at the end of the day, I lost because I didn’t win.  I never make predictions, and I never will, but the thing is if history repeats itself, I should think we can expect the same thing again next year. ”


2 thoughts on “The World Beard and Moustache Championships 2007

  1. Not really relevant I know, but when Robert Smith proclaimed, back in the eighties, that ‘boys don’t cry’ I think he should have thought his statement through. This morning I had been to sainsbury’s and I was loading some shopping into the boot of my car when I caught my knee on the corner of the trolley, bugger it hurt, and yes you guessed it I did indeed cry! I bet you feel rather silly now Mr Smith.

    ‘Searching for the young soul rebels’

    Chelsea Blagger

Leave a Reply

